top of page

骑自行车没有年龄

问题 

老年人的社会隔离 

为什么 

让长者继续积极参与社区

如何 

 

什么

关于这个项目

 

 

Parramatta 分会新成立的由当地企业、社区成员和政府组成的小组委员会正在为推出 Cycling Without Age 做准备。加入我们,成为由社区合作维持的全球运动的一部分,该运动由骑电动助力三轮车 (Trishaw) 为老年人和残疾人服务提供免费乘车服务。

本章通过促进社会包容让乘客感到被重视,为乘客、乘客和社区之间的互动创造机会。免费乘坐由志愿者驾驶的三轮车,将老年人和无法骑车的人与社区和户外联系起来

 

社区队长 Charlene Bordley 多年来孜孜不倦地工作,以建立支持和管理 Parramatta 分会的网络。迄今为止,志愿者骑手已经开始了他们的训练,得到了另一个悉尼分会的支持。小组委员会的所有职位以及当地组织的一些顾问都已填补。隶属于 Cycling Without Age Australia,今年早些时候,他们利用老龄委员会筹集的资金订购了一辆三轮车,以启动 Parramatta 分会。

 

您今天的支持有助于

1. 2021 年 1 月从丹麦交付的三轮车到货的尾款。

2. 保持安全。在 COVID 19 不断变化的时代和环境中,需要额外的防护设备来保证乘客和骑手的安全,并能够定期清洁表面。

3. 支付 12 个月的运营和促销费用,使分委员会能够为社区游乐设施的可持续未来制定战略计划。

成为故事的一部分,骑自行车 Parramatta,将人们和户外联系起来,享受慢速骑行,并有权让风吹过他们的头发。

https://startsomegood.com/projects/cycling-without-age-parramatta

使命宣言 

Active Aging Cycling 计划是一项倡议,旨在将老年人社区聚集在一个有吸引力的社会环境中。  

 

问题 

根据最近的人口普查结果,在澳大利亚,超过 15% 的人口年龄在 65 岁及以上。由于预期寿命增加(澳大利亚也被认为是世界上预期寿命最长的国家之一),社区中老年澳大利亚人的比例越来越高,与澳大利亚人的预期寿命相比,澳大利亚老年人的寿命要长 7 年。 1960 年代中期。随着年龄的增长,老年人社区通常会遇到以下情况:  

  • 与衰老相关的身体健康需求  

  • 丧失自我效能(变得不那么独立) 

  • 寂寞 

  • 较低的收入水平 

老年人参加更高水平的休闲活动和社区项目是很常见的,因为他们有更多的时间花在娱乐项目上,同时获得精神和身体上的好处。重要的是,在老年人社区中教育和鼓励健康老龄化,以减少上述经历的影响。实现这一目标的方法是通过 Active Aging Cycling 计划,为 50 岁以上的参与者提供机会,以发展或提高他们的自行车技能(适合初学者或生锈的骑手),并结合社交互动元素。  

 

结果 

积极老龄自行车计划旨在为参与者和社区提供积极的利益。参加该计划的老年人将有机会学习骑自行车的新技能,并通过以下方式改善他们的心理、情感和身体健康:  

  • 增加力量和流动性——主要通过实施新南威尔士州的跌倒预防来实现。通过骑自行车,参与者将表现出更好的关节活动能力、强化骨骼、减少体内脂肪、降低焦虑和抑郁水平。 

  • 降低参与者患心血管疾病的机会:中风、心脏病或心脏病发作。 

  • 独立的感觉。 

  • 赋权引领健康生活方式 

  • 自我认同 

  • 缓解压力 

    • 这些心理健康益处源于老年人可能因该计划而表现出的积极性和健康的参与反应。 

  • 社会包容:与加入该计划的其他老年人互动 - 老年人将有联系的感觉,更好的生活质量。  

    • 孤独感和社会孤立感在这个年龄组中很常见,因为这通常是由于家庭的丧失和分离。这会影响老年人的心理健康,进而减少积极的健康行为。 

该计划还包括社区,并创造社区环境和成员能够受益的机会,包括:  

  • 与他人建立关系

  • 社会联系 

  • 主动交通——将向参与者介绍一种环保且更可持续的交通方式 

  • 提高社区生产力和福祉

  • COVID-19 造成了社区联系和互动的分离,该计划的引入使社区得以团聚,并从这些娱乐活动中重新获得身心利益。  

 

风险管理

新南威尔士州预防跌倒 

政府制定了一项跌倒预防政策,旨在减少跌倒和跌倒相关伤害的发生率。据估计,每年有三分之一的澳大利亚老年人跌倒,这一直是澳大利亚老年人住院的主要原因。如果老年人摔倒,最常见的伤害包括臀部和大腿骨折以及头部/脑部受伤。预防跌倒对于防止多米诺骨牌效应很重要。跌倒的结果可能导致老年人失去独立性并限制他们恢复(受伤前)的活动范围。 

新南威尔士州卫生政策的实施是一个提供合作的框架 资源、知识和专业知识,以减少老年人跌倒的发生率和严重程度,进而减少跌倒对身体、社会和心理的影响。 

大多数以 50 岁以上为目标人群的项目都将跌倒预防方法作为风险管理策略纳入其实践。积极老龄化自行车计划是体育活动计划的一部分,该计划将跌倒预防政策纳入老年人干预措施,通过实施增强老年人身体预防跌倒可能性的活动和技能发展。 

在该计划中,在处理跌倒预防方面强调了三个关键因素:常见跌倒的管理策略、最大程度地减少跌倒造成的伤害和应对跌倒。骑自行车摔倒的可能性适中到高,但是实施适当的做法将降低这种可能性。 

在技能获取过程中,参与者被教导:  

  • 建立他们的平衡 

  • 提高强度 

  • 鼓励健康的生活方式(运动/饮食) 

  • 危害感知和管理。 

该计划使用跌倒预防策略作为主动老化自行车计划的指导方针和目标,因为它极其重要,并且需要提高对这种风险的认识和了解。 

风险管理和识别 

该计划承认这一目标人群更加脆弱,并采取了额外的预防性筛查和措施,以确保参与者的完全安全和福祉。主要风险来自三个主要因素:环境、设备和个人。 

对人的风险:  

  •  接触 COVID-19  

  •  参与者的事故/伤害 

 

环境风险:  

  • 不安全的场地/公共空间场地——例如坑洼、不平整 

  • 与其他迎面而来的骑车人或行人发生碰撞 

  • 极端天气 

 

设备风险:

  • 损坏/损坏的自行车设备 

  • 头盔损坏/错误使用 

 通过识别这些风险,Addventageous 团队制定了适当的管理策略,以确保上述风险对参与者几乎没有伤害。

bottom of page

Cycling Without Age

Issue 

Social Isolation for Seniors 

Why 

For elderly to remain an active part of the community

How 

 

What

About This Project

 

 

Parramatta Chapter's newly formed Sub Committee of local businesses, community members and government is preparing for the launch of Cycling Without Age. Join us in becoming part of a global movement that is sustained by community collaboration riding an electric assisted tricycle (Trishaw) providing free rides for residence of aged and disability services.

The Chapter creates opportunities for the interaction of passengers, riders and the community by promoting social inclusion to make passengers feel valued. Connecting elderly people and people unable to ride with the community and outdoors by giving them a free ride on a Trishaw piloted by volunteer

 

Community Captain Charlene Bordley has worked tirelessly over the years to build the networks for supporting and managing the Parramatta Chapter. To date volunteer riders have begun their training, supported by another Sydney Based Chapter. All positions have been filled on the Sub Committee along with a number of advisors from local organisations. Affiliated with Cycling Without Age Australia who placed an order earlier this year for a Trishaw from funds raised by Council On The Ageing to start a Parramatta Chapter.

 

Your support today helps with

1. Final payment of the arrival of a Trishaw being delivered Jan 2021 from Denmark.

2. Staying safe. During these changing times and environment of COVID 19 additional protective equipment is required to keep passengers and riders safe as well as being able to regularly clean surfaces.

3. Covering operational and promotional costs for 12 months allowing the sub committee to create a strategic plan for the sustainable future of community rides.

Be part of the story, cycling Parramatta, connecting people and outdoors enjoying a slow ride with the right to having the wind in their hair.

https://startsomegood.com/projects/cycling-without-age-parramatta

Mission Statement 

The Active Ageing Cycling program is an initiative to bring together the senior community in an engaging and social environment. 

 

Issue 

In Australia, over 15% of the population is aged 65 years and over according to the recent census results. There is an increasing proportion of older Australians in the community due to the increasing life expectancy (Australia is also understood to have one of the highest life expectancies in the world), with older Australians to live 7 years longer compared to the life expectancy in the mid-1960’s. It is common for the elderly community to experience the following, as they get older: 

  • Physical health demands associated with aging  

  • Loss of self-efficacy (become less independent) 

  • Loneliness 

  • Lower income levels 

It is common for seniors to participate in a higher level of leisure activities and community programs as they have more time to spend on recreational programs while receiving mental and physical benefits. It is important that healthy ageing is educated and encouraged in the senior community to reduce the impact of the mentioned experiences. An approach to achieve this is through the Active Ageing Cycling program, providing an opportunity for participants aged 50 +, to develop or improve their cycling skills (suitable for beginners or rusty riders) incorporating the social interaction element. 

 

Outcomes 

The active ageing cycling program aims to provide positive benefits to both participants and to the community. The seniors that participating in this program will have the opportunity to learn new skills in cycling as well as improve their mental, emotional and physical wellbeing through: 

  • Increased strength and mobility – mainly achieved through the implementation of the falls prevention NSW. Through cycling participants will demonstrate better joint mobility, strengthened bones, decreased body fats, lower levels of anxiety and depression. 

  • Lowers chances of participants suffering from cardiovascular diseases: stroke, heart disease or heart attacks. 

  • Feelings of independence. 

  • Empowerment to lead a healthy lifestyle 

  • Self-identity 

  • Stress relief 

    • These mental health benefits stem from the motivational and healthy engagement responses the older adults may display as a result of the program. 

  • Social inclusion: interacting with other seniors joining the program – seniors will then have feelings of connectedness, better quality of life. 

    • Feelings of loneliness and social isolation is common among this age group as it is often due to loss and separation of family. This impacts the elderlies mental health and decrease in positive health behaviours in turn. 

This program is also inclusive of the community and creating opportunities that the community environment and members will be able to benefit, including: 

  • Building relationships with others

  • Social connectedness 

  • Active transport – participants will be introduced to an environmentally and more sustainable mode of transport 

  • Improved community productivity and wellbeing

  • COVID-19 has caused the separation of community connectedness and interaction, the introduction of this program has allowed the community to be reunited and re-gain the physical and mental benefits from these recreational activities. 

 

RISK MANAGEMENT

Fall prevention NSW 

The government has developed a fall prevention policy that aims in reducing the prevalence of falls and fall-related injuries. It has been estimated that one in three senior Australians experience a fall each year and has been the leading cause of hospitalisation for older Australians. If a senior results to a fall, the most common injuries include hip and thigh fractures as well as head/brain injuries. Fall prevention is important in preventing a domino effect. The result of a fall could cause the elderly to lose their independence and limit them from returning to their (prior to injury) range of movement. 

The implementation of the NSW Health Policy is a framework that provides a collaboration in  resources, knowledge and expertise to reduce the incidence and severity of falls among older people and in turn reducing the physical, social and psychological impacts of the fall. 

Most programs that have the target population of ages over 50 years, have incorporated the fall prevention approach into their practice as a risk management strategy. The active ageing cycling program is part of the physical activity programs that incorporate the falls prevention policy into their interventions for older people, by implementing activities and skill development that strengthen seniors’ body in preventing the likelihood of falls. 

During the program there are three key factors that are highlighted in dealing with fall prevention: management strategies for common falls, minimising injuries from falls and responding to falls. Cycling is a moderate to high probability of falls however implementing the appropriate practices will reduce this likelihood. 

During skill acquisition, participants are taught to: 

  • Build their balance 

  • Improve strength 

  • Encouragement for healthy lifestyle behaviours (exercise/eating) 

  • Hazard perception and management. 

This program uses the fall prevention strategy as a guideline and target in the active ageing cycling program due to the extreme importance and the need for increased awareness and knowledge about this risk. 

Risk management and identification 

This program acknowledges that this target population is more vulnerable and have taken extra precautionary screening and measures to ensure the complete safety and wellbeing of the participants. The main risks are sourced from three main factors: the environment, the equipment and the individuals. 

Risks to people: 

  •  Exposure to COVID-19 

  •  Accidents/injuries to participant 

 

Environmental risks: 

  • Unsafe venue/public space grounds – e.g. potholes, uneven 

  • Collisions with other oncoming cyclists or pedestrians 

  • Extreme weather 

 

Equipment risks:

  • Broken/damaged bicycle equipment 

  • Helmet damage/ incorrect use 

 Through the identification of these risks the Addventageous team has devised an appropriate management strategies to ensure the mentioned risk poses little to no harm to the participants.

© 2020 Addventageous